B/A NDC elects new executives

Delegates of the National Democratic Congress in the Brong-Ahafo Region successfully elected new regional executives to lead the party in Election 2020.

The elections was conducted and supervised by the Electoral Commission in an atmosphere of peace and about 925 delegates including Members of Parliament (MPs) cast their ballots.

Mr Kwadwo Nyamekye-Marfo, a former envoy was elected the Regional Chairman and Mr Dennis Yeboah Twumasi, incumbent secretary maintained his position.

They were elected by a popular acclamation, as by the close of nominations only the two filed papers to contest or the positions. Alhaji Awudu Baba Gausu was also elected as the Zongo Caucus Coordinator by a popular acclamation.

In contested positions, Alhaji Ibrahim Gariba was elected as the first Vice Chairman with 434 votes whille, Mr Kwadwo Arhin Takyi who had 212 votes became the Second Vice Chairman.

Mohammed Shamsudeen Ali secured 408 votes to win the Deputy Secretary to beat two other contestants, Isaac Donkor-289, and Abdul Razak Chachas-156.

Alhaji Mohammed Seidu maintained his position as the Organiser by polling 543 votes to beat Prince Opoku Mensah-198 votes and Kwasi Lampo-114.

Deputy organiser went to Charles Aseidu who obtained 553 votes to beat his two other contestants Kwateng Gabriel-124 votes and Abdul Fatao Abass-145 votes while Gapson Kofi Raphael secured 480 to become Treasurer after beating Joseph Abonkrah Manu who had 375 votes.

Peter Suaka had 357 votes to become the Deputy Treasurer by beating Ayoma Moro-228 votes and Kwasi Magyina – 215 votes while Charles Akowuah Tuffour polled 543 votes to become the Communication Officer, beating Apraku Lartey-228 votes and Moro Zongo 86 votes.

In the Deputy Communication Officer, Eric Adjei had 482 votes to beat his only contender Amadu Eben Awudulai who had 380 votes with Thomas Efo Worlanyo becoming the Youth Organiser.

In previous elections, Deputy Youth Organiser positions went to Owusu Nkansah Ababio and Rasheed Ahmed, while Agnes Kusi won the Women Organiser position.

Hajia Fati Abubakar and Georgina Puopiel were also elected as the Deputy Women organizers.

Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, the General Secretary of the NDC commended the delegates and supporters of the party for the level of comportment and advised the newly elected executives to work in tandem with the losing candidates for an effective campaign.


Source: GNA

Related posts

Put national interest first – Bawumia

EllSamwise King

Mustapha Hamid tried cleaning Nana Addo’s mess – Valarie Sawyerr |


Arrest of NAM1 in Dubai: Prez Akufo-Addo calls emergency cabinet meeting

EllSamwise King

Leave a Comment